Lawyer for DWI Second Offense in Texas
Experienced and Aggressive Defense for DWI Second Offense in Texas
A DWI second offense in Texas will change your life if you’re convicted. Things may have gone by without too much trouble your first time around, but Texas treats repeat offenders differently: the stakes are higher and they are permanent the second time around. Although you may have some familiarity with the legal system, and have been through all this before, it will be different this time — you need to speak with a lawyer immediately.
As the ONLY Forensic Lawyer-Scientist based in Laredo, TX, Javier Guzman is uniquely qualified to combat breathalyzer and blood-test results and create a powerful case on your behalf. Call Guzman Law Firm at (956) 333-3977 today for a free consultation.
Don’t Lose Hope. We’ll Fight for Your Freedom on a Second DWI Charge.
A 2nd DWI in Texas is a serious offense. You’re facing mandatory jail time and permanent consequences. So, what can you do? You can hire the best representation you possibly can. Someone who isn’t going to treat you like a criminal, but like a family member in a difficult situation.
Was it bad police work? Wrong place wrong time? No case is hopeless. Whatever the circumstances, you deserve an experienced DWI attorney to assist you throughout the legal process and fight to get you the best possible outcome.
What Is the Average Sentence for a 2nd DWI in Texas?
A second DWI in Texas is a Class A misdemeanor unless there were aggravating factors present during your arrest. Some aggravating factors include:
- The presence of a child in the car at the time of the arrest
- A BAC over .15
- Culpability for a serious accident in which someone was seriously injured or died
In most cases, without the previously mentioned aggravating factors, the Class A misdemeanor has the following penalties in Texas:
- Mandatory three days in jail with a year maximum (although those breaking probation will face longer sentencing)
- 6 months to 2 years of probation
- 180 days to 2 years of license suspension
- A criminal fine of up to $4,000 ($4,500 if within 36 months of a prior, or $6,000 if BAC at least .15%)
- $4,500 fine to the Texas Department of Transportation
- Legal fees, court costs, and community service fees
SR-22 and SCRAM device costs and higher auto insurance premiums
- A potential impact on your immigration status
- No possible deferral program or expungement
The stakes are too high. It isn’t enough to hire a lawyer that can take your case, you need a lawyer who can win your case, like Javier Guzman.
Can You Get Probation for 2nd DWI in Texas?
You can get probation for a DWI second offense in Texas. Most motorists convicted of DWI without aggravating factors present in their case will serve six months to three years on probation. Is jail time mandatory for 2nd DWI in Texas? Unfortunately, Texas does carry a 3-day mandatory sentence for those convicted and 5 days for those who got their first charge within 5 years.
During this probation, you may be required to attend alcohol education courses, install an ignition interlock device on your car, and potentially have your license suspended for as long as two years.
While probation may seem like a win, Javier Guzman at Guzman Law Firm considers a not guilty verdict or a dismissal as a real win.
How To Get a 2nd DWI Charge Reduced in Texas
While it is certainly more difficult to get the jury to find you “not guilty” or to have the sentence reduced after you’ve already committed your 1st DWI offense in Texas, it is not impossible.
With the right DWI attorney by your side, the science and circumstances behind the state’s evidence can be called into question, increasing your chances of a favorable verdict. Bad police work happens every day, and often puts innocent people into complicated circumstances that are out of their control.
Here’s what you can do to best help your case.
- Avoid making incriminating statements about how much you had to drink, where, or when.
- Instead, ask to speak to your attorney while politely complying with the police’s questions or instructions.
- Breathalyzers are significantly less accurate than blood tests, so taking one on the scene can be beneficial.
The biggest thing that you can do to help your case and get yourself closer to either getting your DWI charge reduced or dismissed, is have a qualified DWI lawyer in Laredo who you can trust in your corner before or as soon as you leave the jail.
Hire a Lawyer-Scientist for Your DWI Second Offense in Texas
If you’re going to beat a charge for a DWI second offense in Texas, you’re going to need a lawyer with serious credentials. Hiring a lawyer-scientist can be what gives you the edge this time around.
The training that a Forensic Lawyer-Scientist undergoes is extensive, and allows an attorney like Javier Guzman to use knowledge of both scientific processes and standard processes for police work as a part of a complete DWI defense strategy.
Remember, a second DWI will be nothing like a first DWI in Texas. This time things will be different. This time trust Javier Guzman, an ACS-CHAL Forensic Lawyer Scientist known for giving relentless representation. To discuss the specifics of your case, schedule a consultation with the Guzman Law Firm or call (956) 333-3977 today.