Lawyer for DWI in Texas First Offense
Laredo Attorney for First Offense DWI in Texas
The repercussions of a first-offense DWI in Texas can be daunting and life-altering. A conviction for DWI can deeply affect your job, your reputation, and your personal life.
At Guzman Law, we understand the severity of a DWI in Texas first offense charge and what it means for you. Texas Penal Code Section 49.04 categorizes a first DWI offense as a Class B misdemeanor, with potential implications including up to 180 days in jail, $2,000 in fines, and not to mention, a potential suspension of your driver’s license for up to a year. While these steep penalties should be enough to convince anyone to lawyer up, remember that sometimes the most severe fallout from a first-offense DWI in Texas can be done to your family and your reputation — which is why being found not guilty is so essential.
Javier Guzman, the founding attorney of Guzman Law Firm, is the ONLY Forensic Lawyer-Scientist based in Laredo, Texas. Javier has extensive knowledge and experience with DWI in Texas and will strive to protect your rights and get you the best possible outcome.
Remember, a DWI charge is not a conviction. You are innocent until proven guilty. Let Guzman Law be your relentless advocate during this challenging time.
What is the charge of first offense DWI in Texas?
A first DWI in Texas is classified as the first time an individual has been arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated. As mentioned above, it is a Class B misdemeanor offense, punishable by up to 180 days in county jail, a fine not to exceed $2,000, or both.
Additionally, you may face suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year, may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and the charge may impact your personal life, job security, educational opportunities, or future employment.
With stakes as high as these, it is vital that you have the best DWI lawyer in Texas by your side to fight for you.
Texas DWI penalties
Is a DWI a felony in Texas? It can be. The penalties for driving while intoxicated in Texas vary greatly depending on the circumstances, but are uniformly severe. The penalties for DWIs in Texas include:
|Offense||Charge||Fine||License Suspension||Jail Time|
|DWI 1st offense||Class B misdemeanor||Up to $2,000||90 – 365 days||3 – 180 days|
|DWI 1st offense with a BAC greater than .15||Class A misdemeanor||Up to $4,000||180 days – 2 years||30 days – 1 year|
|DWI 2nd offense||Class A misdemeanor||Up to $4,000||180 days – 2 years||30 days – 1 year|
|DWI 3rd offense||3rd-degree felony||Up to $10,000||180 days – 2 years||2 – 10 years|
|DWI with a child in the car||State jail felony||Up to $10,000||Up to 180 days||180 days – 2 years|
Secondary penalties outside of the above can include:
- Ignition interlock devices
- DWI education programs
- Community service
- License renewal surcharges
- Higher auto insurance rates
Whether you’re facing a first DWI, DWI 2nd offense in Texas or even an intoxication manslaughter charge, it is important that you contact an experienced DWI attorney or lawyer for intoxication manslaughter in Texas as soon as possible. Our team at Guzman Law will work to ensure your rights are protected and the best possible outcome is reached.
What are the defense strategies a Texas DWI attorney can employ?
At Guzman Law, we have an aggressive approach towards defending against a DWI in Texas first offense charge. Our experienced attorney will leverage our knowledge of state laws to examine all evidence and identify any flaws in the prosecution’s case. By doing this, we can determine the best defense strategy for you.
Some common DWI in Texas first offense defense strategies may include:
- Questioning the accuracy of breathalyzer results
- Disputing witness testimonies
- Examining any errors made by law enforcement officers or prosecutors
- Proving that there was no probable cause behind the initial stop
- Determining whether any of your rights were violated during the arrest process
It is important to remember that just because you have been charged with DWI does not mean you are guilty. As a Forensic Lawyer-Scientist, Javier Guzman knows just how to fight the science behind a DWI charge in Texas and will tirelessly fight for your rights.
If you’ve recently been charged with a DWI in Texas first offense, you only have 15 days to save your license!
Being charged with a DWI in Texas first offense is no joke. Not only are there steep consequences that could follow you for the rest of your life, but you have an incredibly short window in which to act. In Texas, you only have 15 days to request a hearing before the DPS and save your license from suspension.
It is important to keep in mind that this time frame applies even if the criminal case hasn’t been resolved yet. That means it is critical to reach out to an experienced DWI lawyer in Texas, like Javier Guzman, to ensure your rights are protected and you don’t miss this important deadline.
At Guzman Law, we understand the intricacies of DWI law in Texas and will work hard to examine every piece of evidence presented by the prosecution. Not only that but we are experienced in identifying procedural errors or violations that can help strengthen your case.